Vertical Section Logo

Executive Board
& Legal Information

VS Home Page
General Announcements
How To Join
Nylon Highway Issues
This Page
Training Course Info
Climbing Contest Info
Symbolic Device Sales
Photo Galleries
Web Links for Climbing
Return to the NSS Home Page
  The Vertical Section of the NSS, Inc. was chartered by the NSS in 1972. It is incorporated as a not-for-profit corporation in the state of North Carolina. The Articles of Incorporation were filed in 1994.

The operation of the Section is established by the Constitution and By-Laws.

As required by our non-profit corporate rules, the Minutes of all Meetings, both General and Executive Committee (Board) are posted.

The Section is governed by an Executive Board consisting of nine (9) members. Elections are held at the annual business meeting, normally conducted at each year's NSS Convention. Of the 9 Board members, five (5) are directly elected by the general membership:

  • Secretary/Treasurer               (1 year term)
  • Four (4) Members-At-Large   (2 year terms)
The At-Large members' Terms of Office are staggered, so two (2) are elected each year.

After each annual election, the newly elected Board members vote for the Section Chair and the Section Vice-Chair from the four At-Large members. At that time, they also elect four (4) additional Board members, from the Section membership, to fill 4 special coordinator positions: Website Coordinator, Contest Coordinator, Vertical Techniques Workshop Coordinator, and Education Coordinator. These four Board-appointed offices have 1 year terms.

The current Executive Board Members are:

Office Name & Location Term
Section Chair John Bowling
Clovis, California
Vice-Chair Rachel Saker
Secretary/Treasurer John DeRoo
Atlanta, Georgia
At-Large Mike Rusin
Cincinnati, Ohio
At-Large Amy Mechel Bern
Golden, Colorado
Website Coordinator Gary Bush               (Temporary)
Canal Winchester, Ohio
Contest Coordinator Raymond C. Sira
Shawsville, Virginia
Vertical Techniques Workshop Coordinator Kurt Waldron
Port Republic, Maryland
Education Coordinator Hazel Barton, PhD
Akron, Ohio

Email all the VSEC members at:

These Officers are working hard to make the Section better.
Please let them know you appreciate their efforts.

List of Previous Board Members

Return to the Top of the Page

Copyright © 1999 - 2022 Vertical Section of the NSS, Inc.
All Rights Reserved

Page Last Updated on July 3, 2022

  Board Only